Skip to content

Will-Powered Weekend Work

January 29, 2011

Here’s an exercise in procrastination.  But it’s about work so…it’s also an exercise in tricking myself.  (Again, stream-of-conscious-esque.  So, don’t know how interesting it really is.)

I’m trying to balance will power and intrinsic motivation when it comes to getting work done, particularly on the weekends.  There are some weekends where it is really easy to do work, and I don’t have to deliver any amount of will power at all.  I just do it.  There are other days where it is completely the opposite.  I’d really like (I assume anybody would) that intrinsic energy to not have to force yourself to work, but actually just feel your body willingly partake in productive actions.  I love when I don’t have to actually tell myself to work.

I need more of those days when I wake up on a Friday or Saturday morning, work out in my living, take a shower, cook breakfast, go to my lap top and/or my desk, open up my notebook and/or math curriculum and…begin working.  My goal is to be able to do all these things without having to tell or ask myself to do these things.  My goal is also to be able to do these things at a reasonable pace and within a reasonable amount of time.  I do not like to rush through activities on the weekend, the same way I don‘t like to rush my way into trying to catch a specific bed time.  School is fact-paced enough.

(Then it’s the question of, “Well, what kinds of things should I do the days preceding these productive weekend mornings to increase the likelihood of this timely productivity?”  Exercise, pinapples, avocados, dark chocolate, exposure to sunlight…y’know, anything proven to increase levels of serotonin.)

Essentially, what I’m talking about is approaching work like it’s not really work.  Sometimes I stumble upon work this.  On a weekend morning, when I’m just doing some idle activity like strumming my guitar or washing the dishes, my daydreams fortuitously invade my classroom.  Suddenly, I’m lesson planning in my head and I don’t even know it.  Suddenly, I have to dry my hands with the kitchen towel open up my curriculum.  I don’t think about it; I don’t force myself to do it.  My body and brain just become taken over with this natural thought process and inquiry.

These kinds of days don’t happen nearly enough (both the dishwashing and daydreams turned productive work afternoons), and it’s definitely a moment of which I should not rely on wholly.  I’ve found approaching work slowly and calmly, as opposed to approaching it you’re face-to-face with a roaring lion in the center a coliseum.  Instead, natural inquiry and interest creates a much more productive work time.

It’s like going to bed.  I don’t like going to bed.  But I love falling asleep.  I want the way I live to naturally harness, assist, and advocate for the way I wish to work:  Not always feeling like I’m GOING to my desk to work, but instead utilizing a kind of mental conditioning that takes me to my desk to work without having the metacognitive analysis of… “Well, R.J.  Y’know you have to do this.  If you get started now, you’ll have enough time to go grocery shopping then cook dinner.  You may not even need to come in early tomorrow if you get started now.  All you need to do buddy is straighten your back, turn off the music, and open your notebook…(then into a calm whisper) c’mon buddy…you can do it…that’s it, you can watch these YouTube videos later….”  UGH!  I hate that shit!

I don’t want to go to bed.  I want to fall asleep.

Goodnight everybody.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mitchell jancic permalink
    February 1, 2011 7:28 pm

    I’m happy to see that you’ve gone back to blogging. I am very much enjoting your insights and humor. You must let us know if you connect with this man again and if he eventually made contact with the American Woman.

  2. Renato Rongcal Sr permalink
    February 8, 2011 4:02 am

    It’s sounds, “like son, like father” only that the father treat any week days are weekend.

Leave a Reply

