Skip to content

Ending 2010 with a (Volcanic) Bang

January 28, 2011

Here are some (overdue) pics my father and I hiking Mt. Pinatubo in late Dec. 2010.  This volcano erupted in 1991 (I think), leaving towns all over the island covered in ash – not unlike Mt St. Helens in 1980.  Despite the damage it caused, it left the pristine Crater Lake at the top of the mountain.

The hardest part was just crossing all the cold water streams. Glad I brought two pairs of shoes.

I got angry part way through and decided to take it out on a giant rock...BY BREAKING IT IN TWO!

Then I took a rest.

Tour guide leading the way. Probably getting tired of how slow we're moving.

Nearing the top

We made it!

Pensive

"My arm goes here; yours goes there; and we smile."

Wading in the water of an "undetermined depth"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the jeep ride back we passed by some of the indigenous “Mountain People” (or Negritos).  At first I thought that guy was flipping us off.  But just two very emphatic peace signs.

One Comment leave one →
  1. sheryl permalink
    January 28, 2011 6:50 pm

    RJ, you crack me up.

Leave a Reply

