Skip to content

Can I Bum a Ride, Bro?

October 23, 2010

At this very moment, in the back seat of a cab, I’m considering “simple living”.  What does it really mean?  For the purpose of this moment now, it means not owning a car.  It means utilizing, trusting taxi cabs.  It means learning the bus system.  If I want to continue along this righteous path of both simple living where I weigh the things I need and the things I don’t need, along with “testing myself”, this is not a bad idea.  [This Saturday is slightly different than previous ones, though I hope this feeling and idea is not one that will soon leave me.]

It’s true, I don’t need a car.  I have a driver for tutoring.  I have a taxi guy.  I have very few places to go.  I have friends that drive.  At first, I was very convinced of getting a car.  But today, for whatever reason, it feels superfluous.  Today, I’m closer to this decision:  I want to learn to walk (whatever that means…).  In a way, I want to test myself.  It’s not Alexander Supertramp going to Alaska, but it’s a desire that I want to fulfill.  My fear: It may bring me through too many bouts of introspection.  But who knows what that time will eventually offer me?  I guess that settles it.  The need and want for a car has been put on hiatus.  For me, it’s not a necessity.  What’s a little more sand in my shoes, anyway?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan permalink
    October 28, 2010 5:01 pm

    Don’t use words that I don’t know the definition to.
    Thanks

  2. November 2, 2010 8:09 pm

    ask old mr. webster!

Leave a Reply

